Pidzamkoviy Park was begun in the middle of the 16th century. In the early 1870s, this area was called Széchenyi Park, after the famous public and political figure. During the time that Uzhgorod and Transcarpathia were part of Czechoslovakia, the stadium of the Sports Club "Rus" was built. Soon after, a municipal swimming pool was construced in the park....
This park was named after Tomas Masaryk, the first president of Czechoslovakia (1918-1935). On March 23, 2002, a monument to President Masaryk was erected in the middle of the square. In the park you can spend your free time by reading a book, watching city life, and have fun with children on the playground. It’s no accident that there’s...
Festival ohňa. Na divákov čakajú vystúpenia divadiel ohňa z celej Ukrajiny i zo zahraničia, ohňové duely, gymnasti, akrobati, žongléri, a rovnako vystúpenia hudobných skupín a záverečná párty.
Kapitulna is the oldest street in Uzhgorod, and was once called Castle Street. This was the only street located within the outer fortifications of the castle. In the 17th century it consisted of about 10 households. In the early 19th century the street gradually acquired the name Kapitulna, from “kapituliy”, or “cathedral chapter”, which was the place where advisors...
The interior of the cathedral is decorated in rococo style. The painting inside the cathedral was done at the beginning of the 20th century by artist Joseph Bokshay in late Baroque style. Some fragments of a XVIII century authentic painting are still preserved. The cathedral’s facade is dominated by a four-columned portico of Corinthian order, as well as two bell...
Park of Masaryk is dedicated to the first President of Czechoslovak (1918-1935). On 23 March, 2002 in the middle of the square was installed a monument to President of Czechoslovak Republic – T.Masaryk. Today the international community identifies him as a philosopher, politician and statesman, and his years of presidency - as a reference and example of European democracy.
In the nineteenth century this area was called Trade Square. In 1990, it was renamed after the Hungarian poet and revolutionary Shandor Petofi. On July 11, 1847 he was on his way to his lover, who lived in Transylvania and stopped overnight in Uzhgorod. The night spent at the hotel "Black Eagle" (Petofi Sq., 20), and his impressions of...
The celebration, which has become a hallmark of Uzhhorod, is traditionally held on Youth Day (June 28). The main aim of the organizers is to draw public attention to the importance of family values. As an added bonus there are interesting contests and a lot of fun. The celebration program also provides a vivid motorcade wedding rally, a photo...
Frid Palace (in Hungarian - Fried Palota) is private house of the city, which was built in 1910. It was named in honor of its owner - Jewish entrepreneur Ignaz Fried. There were 18 small shops on the ground floor and 24 apartments on the first and second floors. Jewish families were renting 22 apartments, one flat was for...
This park appeared in the middle of XVI century. Historical documents showed that in 1553 Ferenc and Gaspar Drugets attacked the Pavlican monastery and took possession of its land. In 1587 Pavlican monks left Uzhgorod and monastic garden. Judging by this name, since the middle of the XVI century former garden of Paulicians used as a place where the...