Built as a monastery to educate Basilian monks and Ukrainian children, the building was designed by Uzhgorod architect Ernest Kovosh. Its facade overlooks the street, and originally had four-storey central and three-storey side parts, which contained so-called Hanging Gardens.

This was the tallest building in Uzhgorod until World War II. Since 1947, it has been a part of Uzhgorod State University.