The square is named in honor of a theatre, opened on 7th of July, 1920 with a performance of the well-known Ukrainian play, “Natalka Poltavka”. In July 1921 the famous Ukrainian director Mykola Sadowskyi was invited to be the head of the theatre. Since 2005 the theatre has had the name „Bavka”. Long ago in Verkhovyna regions this was a generic name for...
The building was constructed in 1781. At first, the premises were used to store food and drinks, but after the original brewery located there closed, it was transformed into a hotel, later into a technical school and carpenter school. After Transcarpathia became part of Czechoslovakia, a wine bar was opened in the “Owl’s nest”. By the end of the...
Fentsyk Square is one of the most imposing places in Uzhgorod. Its construction began in the middle of the 19th century. Here, almost every building is of historical significance. At the far eastern end of the square stands the largest and most beautiful Jewish synagogue of Transcarpathia. Next to it, on the bank of the river Uzh, is one of...
Dominated by the regional administration building at one end, since 1999 the square has been decorated with a large statue of Ukraine’s national poet, Taras Shevchenko. In 2001 a grass lawn was installed, with lights. In 2011 a fountain was re-installed. On the left side of the square, there’s a rose garden and right behind it is the building...
Uzhgorod Synagogue was built as a Jewish choral synagogue of the Ashkenazi orthodox community in Uzhgorod. It was designed by architects Gyula Papp and Ferenc Szabolcs in Neo-Moorish style, which intertwines Byzantine and Arab-Moroccan motifs. It opened in 1904. Currently, the building is used by the Transcarpathian Regional Philharmonic Society, founded in 1946. In 1974, one of the best stage...
Built as a monastery to educate Basilian monks and Ukrainian children, the building was designed by Uzhgorod architect Ernest Kovosh. Its facade overlooks the street, and originally had four-storey central and three-storey side parts, which contained so-called Hanging Gardens. This was the tallest building in Uzhgorod until World War II. Since 1947, it has been a part of Uzhgorod State...
Kapitulna is the oldest street in Uzhgorod, and was once called Castle Street. This was the only street located within the outer fortifications of the castle. In the 17th century it consisted of about 10 households. In the early 19th century the street gradually acquired the name Kapitulna, from “kapituliy”, or “cathedral chapter”, which was the place where advisors...
Uzhgorod Castle has everything: history, legend, mystery, sculptures and museums. It’s a great place for taking photos, romance and love. It is first mentioned in the 10th century. The complex has a regional museum, which holds permanent exhibitions depicting history, culture, war, household items, traditions and life in general. On the other hand, the unique “torture chamber” and secret labyrinths...
The building was built in the 17th century (1668). Initially, this building housed military barracks, and from the late 18th century, Uzhgorod gymnasium. In 1915 the City School of Commerce was founded, and from 1920 – the State Academy of Commerce. Following this tradition, today it holds the Uzhgorod College of Commerce. A plaque honoring Avhustin Shtefan, a famous...
Uzhgorod can be rightly considered the “Little Paris” of Transcarpathia. Despite the fact that Uzhgorod is the smallest of all regional centers of Ukraine, it has more than enough historical, architectural and natural sites for one weekend trip.  The town at different periods in time was under the rule of Czechoslovakia and Hungary, which unsurprisingly has left a unique...