The building was built in the 17th century (1668). Initially, this building housed military barracks, and from the late 18th century, Uzhgorod gymnasium. In 1915 the City School of Commerce was founded, and from 1920 – the State Academy of Commerce. Following this tradition, today it holds the Uzhgorod College of Commerce. A plaque honoring Avhustin Shtefan, a famous director of the Academy, can be seen on the wall of the building.