Bat’a Passage was built in 1927-1927, during the period when Uzhgorod and Transcarpathia were part of the Czechoslovakian Republic. It’s named after the Slovakian shoe manufacturer Bat’a. From the side of Theatre Square according to his vision the “Bat’a Palace” was built. On its lower floors there was a large shoe store, and on the upper floors, shoe repair workshops. All along the passage were the workshops of other smaller shoe manufacturers.