Bat’a Passage was built in 1927-1927, during the period when Uzhgorod and Transcarpathia were part of the Czechoslovakian Republic. It’s named after the Slovakian shoe manufacturer Bat’a. From the side of Theatre Square according to his vision the “Bat’a Palace” was built. On its lower floors there was a large shoe store, and on the upper floors, shoe repair...
From 1902-1907 the building housed a Christian educational institution for girls: the Roman Catholic Lyceum of St. Gizella. According to Hungarian history, St. Gizella was the wife of the first Hungarian king, Stephen I, who baptized Hungary. During Soviet rule, a music school was created in the building and the sculpture of St. Gizella, the symbol of the building,...
Next to the Cathedral is the Episcopal Palace, which is an imposing historical and architectural monument of 18th century Uzhgorod. The plan of the palace is L-shaped, with two octagonal towers at the top. The western facade is decorated with a portico and a stucco coat of arms of Bishop Bachynskyi. The history of the Episcopal Palace is inseparable from...
The Pedestrian Bridge has already become a real symbol of Uzhgorod. Earlier, during the 17th–19th centuries, the bridge was wooden and in 1898 the first iron bridge was built. Take your time and stop for a few minutes on the pedestrian bridge to appreciate the Old and New parts of the town and the longest alley of linden trees in...
Dominated by the regional administration building at one end, since 1999 the square has been decorated with a large statue of Ukraine’s national poet, Taras Shevchenko. In 2001 a grass lawn was installed, with lights. In 2011 a fountain was re-installed. On the left side of the square, there’s a rose garden and right behind it is the building...
The Joseph Bokshay Transcarpathian Regional Art Museum is one of the centers of culture and art in the Transcarpathian region. It is named after the Ukrainian painter Joseph Bokshay. The origins of the museum date back to June 1945, when the former Zemska art gallery’s exhibit was given several rooms in Uzhgorod castle. For years, the museum’s collection was...
Fentsyk Square is one of the most imposing places in Uzhgorod. Its construction began in the middle of the 19th century. Here, almost every building is of historical significance. At the far eastern end of the square stands the largest and most beautiful Jewish synagogue of Transcarpathia. Next to it, on the bank of the river Uzh, is one of...
Kapitulna is the oldest street in Uzhgorod, and was once called Castle Street. This was the only street located within the outer fortifications of the castle. In the 17th century it consisted of about 10 households. In the early 19th century the street gradually acquired the name Kapitulna, from “kapituliy”, or “cathedral chapter”, which was the place where advisors...
The building was constructed in 1781. At first, the premises were used to store food and drinks, but after the original brewery located there closed, it was transformed into a hotel, later into a technical school and carpenter school. After Transcarpathia became part of Czechoslovakia, a wine bar was opened in the “Owl’s nest”. By the end of the...
Next to Uzhgorod Castle a Transcarpathian village is on display, unchanged since ancient times. Located under the open sky, The Museum of Folk Architecture and Rural Life welcomes visitors to view architectural monuments of a traditional Transcarpathian village, as well as samples of the oldest and most common types of hand-made folk crafts. Most of the buildings date from...