The building was constructed in 1781. At first, the premises were used to store food and drinks, but after the original brewery located there closed, it was transformed into a hotel, later into a technical school and carpenter school. After Transcarpathia became part of Czechoslovakia, a wine bar was opened in the “Owl’s nest”. By the end of the 1970s the former brewery acquired the status of an architectural monument of national importance.