Dominated by the regional administration building at one end, since 1999 the square has been decorated with a large statue of Ukraine’s national poet, Taras Shevchenko. In 2001 a grass lawn was installed, with lights. In 2011 a fountain was re-installed. On the left side of the square, there’s a rose garden and right behind it is the building...
Transcarpathian regional Philharmonia was founded on 19 February, 1946. Philharmonia has located in the building of a former synagogue since 1957. Building of a synagogue was completed in 1904 designed by Transcarpathian architects F.Szabolcs and D. Pappa on the embankment of river Uzh. Calculation of works was 200000 korunas. It was the first reinforced concrete structure in Uzhgorod. The...
Since 1946 Transcarpathian Museum of local lore began to work in Uzhgorod Castle. "Exposition of nature department" provides physical and geographical characteristics of the Transcarpathian region, data on mountains, forests, flora and fauna and more."Exposition of archeology department" highlights the topic "Transcarpathia in the era of the ancient Stone Age, Paleolithic", "Transcarpathia in the era of New Stone Age,...
The material and spiritual culture of the city was formed under the influence of members of different ethnic groups living in the Carpathian region, including Hungarians, Czechs, Slovaks, Poles, Romanians, Germans and Jews. This vividly affected the development of arts, architecture, music and customs. As for painting, the Transcarpathian artists were influenced by Western schools. Each year Transcarpathia holds more...
It was built in 1781. Initially building was used for storage of food and drinks, but after the elimination of factory’s equipment the brewery was turned into hotel, then into the specialized school and joiner school. After the reunification of Transcarpathia with Czechoslovakia, wine bar was opened in the "owl's nest". By the end of the 70s of last...
Vasilian monastery was built to educate Vasilian monks and Ukrainian children. Project of the building was developed by Uzhgorod architect Ernest Kovosh. Originally a monastery, whose facade overlooked the street, had four-storey central and side parts, where Hanging Gardens were situated. It was the highest building in Uzhgorod till the First World War. In 1947 the building was transferred to...
Participants and guests of the celebration will try different varieties of honey and familiarise themselves with different bee products. In addition, guests can take part in contests like “Best honey expert” and "Bee Happy" for the best Bee costume. Winners will receive prizes and sweet honey treats. During the festival you’ll enjoy performances by local artistic groups and other...
Uzhgorod Holy Cross Greek Catholic Cathedral began to be built in 1640 by Count Janos Drugets. Cathedral served as a temple for the Jesuit monastery that was in the house of the bishop's residence. On April 1, 1770 the general vicar Andrii Bachynskyi (1732-1809) on an audience with the Empress Maria Theresa succeeded independence for Mukachevo Eparchy. In 1773...
Park of Masaryk is dedicated to the first President of Czechoslovak (1918-1935). On 23 March, 2002 in the middle of the square was installed a monument to President of Czechoslovak Republic – T.Masaryk. Today the international community identifies him as a philosopher, politician and statesman, and his years of presidency - as a reference and example of European democracy.
Uzhgorod is located at an altitude of about 120 meters above sea level at the foothills of the Carpathian Mountains on the river Uzh. The area of the city is 41.56 km². It strenches 12 km from north to south and 5 km from east to west. Uzhgorod‘s highest point is Mount Velyka Daibovetska at 224m. The green areas...