Uzhgorod Synagogue was built as a Jewish choral synagogue of the Ashkenazi orthodox community in Uzhgorod. It was designed by architects Gyula Papp and Ferenc Szabolcs in Neo-Moorish style, which intertwines Byzantine and Arab-Moroccan motifs. It opened in 1904.
Currently, the building is used by the Transcarpathian Regional Philharmonic Society, founded in 1946. In 1974, one of the best stage...
The Pedestrian Bridge has already become a real symbol of Uzhgorod. Earlier, during the 17th–19th centuries, the bridge was wooden and in 1898 the first iron bridge was built.
Take your time and stop for a few minutes on the pedestrian bridge to appreciate the Old and New parts of the town and the longest alley of linden trees in...
The building was constructed in 1781. At first, the premises were used to store food and drinks, but after the original brewery located there closed, it was transformed into a hotel, later into a technical school and carpenter school. After Transcarpathia became part of Czechoslovakia, a wine bar was opened in the “Owl’s nest”. By the end of the...
Built as a monastery to educate Basilian monks and Ukrainian children, the building was designed by Uzhgorod architect Ernest Kovosh. Its facade overlooks the street, and originally had four-storey central and three-storey side parts, which contained so-called Hanging Gardens.
This was the tallest building in Uzhgorod until World War II. Since 1947, it has been a part of Uzhgorod State...
The Church of St. George is a 17th century Roman Catholic temple, built by the mayor of Uzhgorod George Druget, in place of a destroyed Lutheran temple. In the 18th century the temple was rebuilt in neo-Baroque style. One piece of the interior that deserves special attention is an unusual neo-Baroque altar (1895) – the work of painter Johann Lucas Kracker. I In 2000-2001, after...
Next to the Cathedral is the Episcopal Palace, which is an imposing historical and architectural monument of 18th century Uzhgorod. The plan of the palace is L-shaped, with two octagonal towers at the top. The western facade is decorated with a portico and a stucco coat of arms of Bishop Bachynskyi.
The history of the Episcopal Palace is inseparable from...








