Pidzamkoviy Park was begun in the middle of the 16th century. In the early 1870s, this area was called Széchenyi Park, after the famous public and political figure. During the time that Uzhgorod and Transcarpathia were part of Czechoslovakia, the stadium of the Sports Club “Rus” was built. Soon after, a municipal swimming pool was construced in the park. A unique hallmark of the park is the children’s railway, opened in August 1947.